Thursday, August 14, 2008

Sens sign centre Smith

The Sens signed 2008 draft pick Zack Smith to a three-year entry-level deal, according to a press release from the team (read it here).

I think it's a foregone conclusion that he won't be making the Senators, but he's probably got a good chance of playing for the B-Sens after getting some AHL experience with the Manitoba Moose last season. Including Smith, the Sens have the following (natural) centremen on the roster:

  1. Jason Spezza
  2. Mike Fisher
  3. Antoine Vermette
  4. Chris Kelly
  5. Dean McAmmond
  6. Cody Bass
  7. Josh Hennessy
  8. Justin Mapletoft
  9. Ilya Zubov
  10. Scott May
  11. Alexander Nikulin
  12. Peter Regin
  13. James O'Brien
  14. Zack Smith
  15. Igor Mirnov
  16. Louie Caporusso
  17. Matthew McIlvane
  18. Colin Greening

So... yeah. A lot of guys will be playing the wing instead, and a few guys might get bumped.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin